HawthorneVillager.com

Hawthorne Village (Milton) Discussion Board
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 5:49 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2014 6:51 pm 

Looking into buying a used convertible from the U.S. in the off season now. Any thoughts? I am in my mid-thirties, 6 ft tall so not sure if I will look proportional in 1 series?

PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2014 7:03 pm 

The 1 Series is much smaller (and slightly effeminate in my opinion, but with an edge since it's a pocket rocket), but it handles like it's on rails with a shorter wheelbase; the car magazines love the car. One of the neighbours here named 727girl has one and can definitely comment more.

The 335i Cabriolet is gorgeous and that's the one I'd get (with the red leather interior). I work in the auto business, so when I was talking to one of my colleagues who used to work at BMW about this car, he said the only warning is to never operate the power hardtop in winter because if something breaks, there is a whackload of motors that could cost almost into the 5 figures to fix. :shock:

PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2014 7:19 pm 

If this was a coupe vs coupe I would say the 1 series, but because of the vert, go with the 335. You won't look like a hairdresser driving it.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2014 7:26 pm 

I love my 128 but it's not a convertible. I like it on the highway... lots of getup and go! I thought about getting a new 228 but am sticking with this one for now. I mostly see women or young guys driving them. Few old guys sometimes. Of course, my hubby drives it too :D He's about 5'10" I guess? It is a small car though. Mostly just me in the car or with hubby, but occasionally (very rare) have 1 or 2 adults in the back. Tight but they do fit. The 3 series isn't that much bigger though.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2014 11:40 pm 
Sandeepster this is your wheelhouse. ...don't disappoint.

PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2014 12:57 am