HawthorneVillager.com

Hawthorne Village (Milton) Discussion Board
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 5:29 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: School me on media boxes
PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2015 9:11 am 

I know there is a few people on here who are all into this stuff, so I thought someone could shed some light on this topic with recommendations. We just moved into a new place and finally convince my wife to ditch traditional cable/fibe TV. Not interested in installing an antenna on my roof at this point.

I would like to look into some options for a streaming media box. I am a pretty tech savvy person but totally out of touch with the options available today and its a bit overwhelming. We currently have an Apple TV2 which I understand I can jailbreak and run Kodi/XBMC. I don’t know if that is more trouble than its worth, and maybe I look into something a little more out of the box like one of the Android options.

Would like to be able to:
- Steam content online (TV/Movies)
- Access Netflix
- Access media from local network

Any guidance or recommendations is appreciated!

PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2015 9:31 am 

I have yet to find a media box that can replace my 7 year old POS Dell slim case PC that I have hooked up to my tv, and a wireless keyboard with a track pad built in.

So if you have an old PC, who's case isn't too fugly to have laying around, I'd say use that. A clean install of Windows 7 (upgradable to 10 for free!) and aforementioned wireless keyboard addition (you can grab them for <$40) and you should be golden.

What do I know though?

PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2015 9:38 am 

I have a couple of Roku 3's.

Granted I'm a simpleton and don't care to jail break and mod stuff - I'm not thaaat desperate to watch tv. If we for some reason can't find something on Netflix, Crackle, YouTube or whatever - I'll just pay the $5 to rent something off Google Play.